SAVE THE DATE: February 20, 2015


September 10, 2014

Dear friend,

Just fourteen months ago we embarked on an amazing adventure together. As a community, we worked to prove the common wisdom wrong: Traditional-Egalitarian & Masorti/Conservative Jewish campus communities do exist, and we are here for the long-haul. Last February, 65 students from 32 college campuses came together at the Jewish Theological Seminary in New York for Masorti on Campus’ first ever student leadership Shabbaton.

In the midst of uncertainty, Conservative campus communities across North America reorganized themselves in order to thrive in a new reality. One of these communities is at the University of Maryland. After having been reborn as Ometz, students from UMD’s Traditional-Egalitarian community approached Masorti on Campus about hosting a second Shabbaton. With our shared vision of providing interested Jewish students with meaningful opportunities to connect religiously, intellectually, and culturally with Judaism through the framework built by generations of Conservative Jews, the Ometz community could not be a better fit.

Masorti on Campus and University of Maryland Hillel are thrilled to announce our 2nd Annual Student Leadership Shabbaton. To be held the weekend of February 20-22, 2015 at the University of Maryland, College Park. For more information about this Shabbaton, please visit our website:

Using last year’s success as a jumping off point, Tyler Dratch (List/Columbia ‘15) will be returning as a Shabbaton co-Chair; he is joined by Maryland’s own Liat Deener-Chodirker (‘17) & Ben Kramer (‘15).

Our adventure together has been absolutely amazing, and we hope that everyone will join us as we continue to fulfill our shared vision. As our excitment grows, please share this announcement with your friends and peers; there is so much more we can accomplish together. If you have any questions, comments, or ideas please email us at

If you would like to donate toward this Shabbaton, or to Masorti on Campus in general, please visit our website:

Kol tuv,

Eric M. Leiderman,
Director of Institutional Advancement

Tyler Dratch, Liat Deener-Chodirker & Ben Kramer
Shabbaton Co-Chairs